How I Achieve Long Lasting Makeup in 6 Steps!

Hello my lovelies! 
Today I will be sharing with you my tips for achieving long lasting makeup that stays on all day! If you’re one of those people who wear a full face of makeup and have a tendency to stay out all day, whether that’s for work or simply just hanging out with people, then you will need to ensure that your makeup stays in one place and doesn’t move all day. 

The major problem that I usually have with my makeup is that it ends up sliding off of my face within a few hours. I constantly ask people for tips or watch YouTube videos that explain how you can make your fully contoured cheekbones, winged out eyeliner, cut crease eyeshadow & fleeky eyebrows last all day. After testing out many different products and techniques, I’ve finally found a routine that makes my makeup stay in place. I could do my makeup at 7am and I would still be as flawless 12 hours later. Want to find out my routine? Just keep reading! 

Step 1: Moisturise

It’s actually ridiculous how much I moisturise my face when I’m not wearing makeup. I love having soft skin & knowing that I’m helping it look better when I’m older! I always moisturise before doing my makeup because I don’t want to do it when my face is dull and dry. It’s also great because it will give your primer something to blend with and stick to! I’ve been using the Nivea Refreshingly Soft Moisturising Cream which is available at Boots for £2.45 and Superdrug for £2.49. 


Step 2: Prime Your Face

Primer is going to be your best friend when trying to get your makeup to last all day. It gives the foundation something to stick to, minimises your pores, prepares your skin for the finish you want it to have (dewy or matte) and some even slightly cover any blemishes. The primers I’m absolutely loving at the moment is the B. Prepared Makeup Primer which was available at Superdrug but I think that it has now sadly been discontinued 😦 and the Benefit Porefessional which is available at Boots & Debenhams for £24.50 

Step 3: Prime Your Eyelids

If you are going for a full dramatic eye, winged out liner or are wearing something simple on your eyelids then you still want to make sure that it stays all day. There’s nothing worse than doing your eye makeup and then realising that it was smudged 3 hours later. I would recommend using the very popular Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion it is available at Debenhams, the UD website and Selfridges for £16. I tried out a few samples of this and absolutely fell in love with it. My eyeshadow did not move all day and it was still easy to take off when it was time to go to bed! Currently I’m just using a concealer as an eyeshadow primer which works just as well. I use the Morphe 10 Colour Concealer Palette which is £11.95 on Beauty Bay or the Maybelline Age Rewind Concealer which is £7.99 at Boots and Superdrug.  

Step 4: Use A Foundation Meant To Last All Day! 

There’s really no point in wearing a foundation that isn’t meant to last very long. Some foundations are only good if you’re going out for dinner or meeting friends for a few hours. It’s extremely important to pick a foundation that has good lasting qualities if you really want to look glamorous all day. I’ve been loving the Urban Decay Weightless Ultra Definition Liquid Makeup which is available on their website, Debenhams and at Selfridges for £27. You can check out my review on it by clicking here. I’ve also been obsessed with the Yves Saint Laurent Touche Éclat Foundation which is available at Debenhams & Boots for £32.50. You can check out my review on it by clicking here

Step 5. Set Your Foundation & Concealer! 

There is no way that your makeup is going to last if you don’t set your foundation & concealer powder. Your concealer will simply just crease & move around and your foundation will slide off. Setting it with good products is absolutely essential. I’ve been using the Rimmel London Match Perfection Silky Loose Powder which is available at Boots and Superdrug for £6.99. And the Rimmel London Clear Complexion Clarifying Powder which is available at Superdrug and Boots for only £3.99! I tried their Stay Matte powder and it was just shit and made my skin look terrible. 



Step 6: Use A Setting Spray! 

Now that your face is all glammed up, it’s time to set it all with a setting spray. This will lock your whole makeup in place and make sure that it doesn’t move all day. I use the Urban Decay All Nighter Setting Spray. This product will be your best friend for achieving long lasting makeup. It never ever fails me and it’s amazing because they 2 more options depending on your skin type! If you have normal skin then go for the All Nighter setting spray, if you have dry skin go for Chill which is a cooling & hydrating setting spray and if you have oily skin go for De-Slick which is an oil controlling setting spray. All of these are £22 each and can be found on their website, Selfridges or Debenhams.  

And that’s how I achieve long lasting, flawless makeup all day! If you have any tips or would recommend some products that also help your makeup last all day please feel free to let me know! Hope you enjoyed this blog post! 
Stef xo

Leave a Reply

